Friday, June 18, 2010

Oh...Myers just said it.

I thought about mentioning something along the lines of what Brett Myers said following last night's game. But then I thought again, because I didn't want to bring up old crap. Luckily, Brett Myers has no such filter:

Regarding the inning-ending double play completely normal play:
"If they can overturn calls like that, I think they should overturn Galarraga's no-hitter. If that's what they are starting to do when an umpire makes a mistake, then we have to live with it."

Mills:
“There was just no precedent to reverse a call like that. I think it opens up a huge can of worms.”

I knew it. I knew this would come up. Galarraga. Precedents. Whatnot. At least it seems as though the umpires are appropriately wary of getting the call wrong. Why they couldn't, you know, talk over Galarraga's game before walking off the field (seriously, where the hell was 2B umpire Jim Wolf? Or 3B umpire Derryl Cousins?) is beyond me. But this isn't about Galarraga, it's about a play that ultimately didn't hurt the Astros - but it doesn't mean they're not upset about it.

1 comment:

John Royal said...

There was precedent for it. 1980 NLCS. Game 4. Batter hits a sinking liner to Vern Ruhle, who appears to make the catch. Home plate umpire Doug Harvey calls it an out, Ruhle spins, throws, and starts a triple play to get Astros out of the inning. Phillies argue with Harvey. Harvey confers with his fellow umps, overturns the call and says no catch by Ruhle. The call is then turned into a double play, and a Phillies runner is placed back on base -- third I believe. So yes, this has happened before.