Wednesday, January 9, 2013

Notable ballots

It's going to be really hard to do this without swearing, so let's just try to get through it. The BBWAA posted ballots of those writers "who chose to share" them. Unsurprisingly, the one knucklemonkey who voted for Aaron Sele and/or Woody Williams did not choose to share his ballot.

So let's take a look at some things (note the following is not necessarily their complete ballot):

Frank Clines, who is an honorary voting member, voted for Bonds, Clemens, McGwire, Palmeiro, Piazza, and Sosa. But not Jeff Bagwell.

Rob Maaddi, who is affiliated with the Associated Press, voted for Bonds, Clemens, McGwire, Dale Murphy, Palmeiro, Piazza, Schilling, and Sosa. But not Bagwell or Biggio.

The AP's Steve Wilstein voted for Bonds, Clemens, Piazza, and Sosa. Neither Bagwell or Biggio.

Baseball Prospectus' John Perrotto voted for Alan Trammell and Larry Walker. But not Biggio.'s Ken Gurnick (and jacknut Murray Chass) voted for Jack Morris, and Jack Morris alone.

The Daily Herald's Mike Imrem voted for Kenny Lofton, but not Biggio.'s Michael Knisley voted for Mike Piazza, but not Jeff Bagwell.

Boston Globe's Tony Massarotti voted for Bonds and Clemens, but not Bagwell and Biggio.

Honorary voting member Bill Griffith voted for seven players (including Alan Trammell, Tim Raines, Jack Morris, and Lee Smith), none of whom were Biggio or Bagwell.

CBSSports' Danny Knobler only voted for Jack Morris, Tim Raines, and Alan Trammell.

The San Francisco Chronicle's Ann Killion only voted for Tim Raines and Lee Smith.